CHC33015 – Certificate III in Individual Support


Course Information

Qualification Name Certificate III in Individual Support
Qualification Code CHC33015
Course Duration  52 weeks
Study Mode Face to face/Blended (Workshops + self-directed online learning)
Tuition Fee
This course is subsidised through SA Government WorkReady for eligible participants. Eligibility and subsidy criteria apply. Check your eligibility at www.skills.sa.gov.au
Tuition Gap Fee $380 (student Contribution)
Fee for Service $2,400.00 (Self-funded)

Course Description

This qualification reflects the role of workers in the community and/or residential setting who follow an individualised plan to provide person-centred support to people who may require support due to ageing, disability or some other reason. Work involves using discretion and judgement in relation to individual support as well as taking responsibility for own outputs. Workers have a range of factual, technical and procedural knowledge, as well as some theoretical knowledge of the concepts and practices required to provide person-centred support.

To achieve this qualification, the candidate must have completed at least 120 hours of work as detailed in the Assessment Requirements of the units of competency.

Admission Criteria

Entry requirements apply to this course:
  • Students must be over 18 years of age.
  • A current and valid National Police check ( dated within 12 months) is a mandatory requirement for this program
  • Manual handling
  • Students must have completed Australian Year 12 or an overseas equivalent or an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF)  or higher qualification prior to commencing this course.
  • Have sound language, literacy and numeracy skills in order to undertake this course (Contact IIBIT for a LLN test).
  • Have a USI or obtain a USI refer https://www.usi.gov.au/students

English language requirements for international students:

Students must also meet IIBIT’s standards for English Proficiency. In order to demonstrate possession of adequate English language proficiency, students must provide valid evidence of attainment of at least one of the following:
  • Academic IELTS (International English Language Testing System) overall band score: 5.5
  • TOEFL iBT (Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-Based test) test score band: 46
  • PTE Academic (Pearson Test of English) test score band: 42
  • CAE (Cambridge English Advanced) test score band: 47
  • OET (Occupational English Test) test score band: Pass
  • TOEFL PBT (Test of English as a Foreign Language Paper-Based Test) test score band: 527
Overseas students who are unable to meet any of the above English language proficiency requirements may undertake further study on a NEAS-approved course of English for Academic Purposes designed to raise students English proficiency to an equivalent level to IELTS 5.5. Production of proof of successful completion of such a course will be accepted by IIBIT as meeting the English language proficiency admission requirement. For students who do not have an IELTS Test score or equivalent test score, they can take an English Placement Test to assess whether their English level can meet the requirements of entry into the Diploma course.
Teaching methods focus on classroom based face-to-face training, which includes lectures and practical tutorials. Classes are small in size and lecturers focus on individual student needs during the learning process. The emphasis in assessment is on collection of evidence, holistic assessment against the unit of competency and trainer/assessor judgement. Importance is placed on the integration of areas of theoretical knowledge, practical skills and proper work attitudes. The following assessment methods are used:
  • Written examinations
  • Written and oral quizzes
  • Simulated workplace activities/scenarios/role plays
  • Projects/assignments/presentations
  • Classroom activities
Learning and assessment generally take place in an integrated classroom and simulated workplace environment. We aim to equip our graduates with the necessary skills and knowledge to enable them to successfully satisfy the demands of the workplace.    
This qualification offers three different streams: Ageing, Disability and home and community care. seven core units are common for each stream. The specialisation in any stream or combination of streams will depend on the choice of electives selected to complete the qualification. All the units of competency for this qualification, including core and elective units are listed.
  • core units
  • ageing
  • disability
  • home and community
  • 1 CHCAGE001 - Facilitate the empowerment of older people Elective
    2 CHCCCS011 - Meet personal support needs Elective
    3 CHCCCS025 - Support relationships with carers and families Elective
    4 CHCHCS001 - Provide home and community support services Elective
    5 CHCDIS002 - Follow established person-centred behaviour supports Elective
    6 CHCAGE005 - Provide support to people living with dementia Elective

    Delivery Locations


    L6, 127 Rundle Mall,
    Adelaide, SA 5000, Australia

    Phone: +61 8 8203 9000